The Power of Sleep

I just spent the past two weeks in Breakfast hell.  5 and 6 am call times, sometimes not getting off until 9 and 10 pm that night.  It refocused the importance of sleep in my life.

Setting and enforcing BedTimes, enforcing a routine that works and Staying in bed until a certain time has done wonders to get me through this period.  I am looking forward to maintaining that kind of lifestyle as I transition back to a more conventional Lifestyle.

I feel better.  My life is better.  My demeanor is far more stable, even WITH the ungodly wake up times.

As someone who suffered for YEARS in and out of marriage with insomnia, The power I have taken over my bedtime routine is the single Most significant part of maintaining my sanity throughout this process.

Today’s Advice: If you suffer from Insomnia, do not attack yourself…attack your routine, or lack thereof.

5 comments

  1. annette_b

    Amazing what a good night’s sleep {and occasionally a timely nap ! 🙂 } can do for you, not just physically, but emotionally. Laying down the load of stress that so many of us carry, even if it’s just for a few hours, is a blessing indeed and I do everything I can to maximize the experience; my bedroom is my sanctuary, warm pleasing colors, no mess about the place, no TV, and at night the thermostat gets turned down to about 65-67 degrees so I can relax under cozy layers of blankets and comforters. Yes, this is an exercise that not only needs to be done, but taken seriously and done RIGHT. No haphazard falling into bed all willy-nilly for this lady…🙂

  2. Charlene

    This is a reminder of something I have been meaning to attack. I have erratic sleep patterns and durations. Do you know have a set bed time? Do you or other commentators have a “getting to bed routine” the 30 minutes before getting to sleep?

    • annette_b

      I don’t really have a routine or a set bedtime, except that after about 10:30PM, it’s officially ‘late’ and time to start thinking about turning in. For me, sleep preparation is mental. Once I decide it’s bedtime, I start turning off the day’s events in my head, start thinking about rest and relaxation and begin looking forward to that last ‘lights out’. I’m usually asleep within 10 minutes of snuggling under.

  3. Dee

    Great post! Once I started college my semi-normal sleep pattern that I had as a teen went out the window and it has been difficult to really get it back together. Good luck on your quest of escape from team insomnia😉

Leave a Reply

