Three the Hard Way – Inkognegro 3.1: The Momma’s Boy

Author’s Note: forgive the tardiness, Labor, newborn babies, custodial parenting, stuff like that intruded and I ended up spending more time Living the story than writing about it.  My bad.  You won’t miss a detail, I promise.

Previously on Three The Hard Way

In the aftermath of 9/11, there was enough flux in my life that I could pretend my family life was back to normal.  I trudged through The fall of 2001 with my head down, saying very little verbally, but tackling my new found passion of writing.  Writing at that time was like the therapy that I had never experienced.

I was participating on an anonymous group blog called Kindred with a bunch of established Bloggers.  The rush I felt as a part of that immensely talented collective inspired me to creative heights I have NOT found since.  I was BLOGGING with the Best Black Bloggers in  the world way back in TWO THOUSAND ONE, SON!

I spent the autumn oblivious to my family, Engaging just enough to keep everyone quiet about the turmoil of the past and to focus on how I was going to survive eighteen years of Loveless marriage while raising my sons.   Suffice it to say that it never occured to me that they might NOTICE that mommy and daddy didn’t really like each other all that much.  That 3.0 ALREADY could tell that something wasn’t quite right even as he was concentrating on the wonders of Potty Training.

That 3.1 was a momma’s boy was inevitable.  That he resembled TFMI was merely coincidence.  For someone who spent the last 4 months in the womb of a woman whose husband only occasionally shielded his hopeless outlook on marital bliss and family, it is difficult to imagine that I could have built up a great deal of cool points in utero.

But none of that stopped me.  I was a man who only vaguely remembered having a Father in the house.  I told ANYONE who would listen to my digital rantings, that i Would NEVER be THAT father.  Id Stick in through thick and thin.  Wasn’t gonna make it until death did us part, but I would DEFINITELY make Graduation.

Famous Last words.

One comment

Leave a Reply

