Scatterbrained remarks about The Grammys

*Doesn’t Justin Timberlake owe Al Green money? He should be paying Al Green royalties.

*Can we get Duffy and Al Green to actually record Bridge over troubled Water?

*Either Whitney is still on that ish…or she did a LOT of that ish before and its still wreaking havoc on her brain. That said…she looks about as healthy as I’ve seen her in a MINUTE.

*Is it safe to say that the only way dude got close enough to Jennifer Hudson to potentially wife

her is because he was on I Love NY before? At the risk of minding folk’s business I am inclined to hope he runs into either Al Reynolds or Jonathan Plummer BEFORE the ceremony and not after.

*I don’t ever want to hear ANYONE sing Sweet Home Alabama, especially not a former Rapper.

*Putting aside for a moment that the Jonas Brothers are woefully inadequate live performers, it is patently incorrect to say that Stevie Wonder backed them up. They backed Stevie Wonder up.

*I am about as bored by this performance as I can be by a bunch of women dancing around giant fruit.

*Kanye West has TEN grammys already?

*It’s a good thing my wife is pregnant. It makes holding this irrational Torch for Estelle much easier to bear.

*Adele bears a striking resemblance to the John Travolta character in Hairspray.

*I don’t know who is getting older faster, Morgan Freeman or Denzel Washington. Miss Daisy’s driver, you are too damn old to be pulling stunts like you just pulled. Sityoass down somewhere, please.

*Didn’t Natalie Cole say something rather unfortunate rather recently?

*Is MIA pregnant?

*Why do I feel compelled to DVR CSI: Miami just to see if Puffy has gotten any better as an actor?

*Getting these four cats to tour together could End the Recession.

*Its always funny to see how Kanye works REALLY hard on verses he has with Rappers he views as lyrically superior.

*Why didn’t they put MIA in a Gown to match up with the rest of the damn set? That said, props to her for taking time out from her scheduled labor inducement to lend authenticity to the hook, I think.

*Why is Wayne’s verse more intelligible LIVE than in the recording?

*This is probably the only way MIA’s child is ever going to get on the Grammy Stage.

*The ONLY reason I didn’t FF through Sir Paul is because he opened with a Beatles’ song.

*Random related Sidebar: Apparently Steelers RB Willie Parker hadn’t heard of Bruce Springsteen until the Super Bowl. This is completely plausible. Willie is 10 yrs younger than I am and I remember Bruce Springsteen when I was 14. Willie was 4 then. It ain’t Bruce has been hot in the Streets SINCE then.

*Jay Mohr is fat. That is all.

*There is a certain giddiness that sets in when I see a full marching band drumline backing up a rock band. Thank you Radiohead.

*Um…Looks like Samuel L. Jackson wants to get in on that rapidly aging Black man race too.

*I would like to reiterate (again) that all rappers MUST be backed by live bands in order to be taken seriously by the author.

*Would TI have grown up so quickly if he hadn’t caught that case? Makes you wonder.

*Adversity builds Character. Character will take you places that money can’t. Why isn’t stuff like THIS played on Black radio every 8 minutes. Instead we get. “Whatever you Like”

*The President of the Grammys annoys me as he has for the last 4 years or so. At least he isn’t bitching about downloading music this year.

*I support a Cabinet level position of Secretary of the Arts.

*Jamie Foxx is a HUGE fool (in a good way, mostly) but when he isn’t dropping random watered down pop music for Black women, he is an incredible musical talent.

*Neil Diamond, everybody. Yay.

*There is a Vibe Magazine sitting on the floor of my car ONLY because I keep meaning to read the article about Static Major.

*There is a certain irony in having Gary Sinese intro Lil Wayne when Gary and Former President George W. Bush are purty tight.

* I do appreciate Wayne leaving aside the Styrofoam cup for tonight and I am still astounded at how much more intelligible Wayne is live than he is in recordings.

*And I am officially going to stop posting and dance with my dog throughout the living room.

* and yes, Wayne is as much of a descendant of the NO music scene as anyone with the last name Marsalis, even as it pains me to say so.

*And now for the yearly appearance of the Lil Wayne Family.

* Ima go ahead and add Robert Plant and Allison Krauss to my list of stuff I should appreciate, but don’t.

*Do people who don’t listen to rap understand what rappers say when they perform live?

 

 

Thanks for coming by. See ya for the Oscars.

 

 

One comment

  1. Kamala Platt

    Uh…Bruce? Bruce has been selling out arena (like world over) for more than 20 years. And I don’t think he has ever had album that did less than gold. ( And you call yourself an Audiophile? Right.)

    These jest jokes.

Leave a Reply

