Permission to Revise and Extend my Remarks

As a nod to the serialized nature of this particular topic.

Previously on Inkognegro 1.75

Aside from that whole foolishness with Pastor Manning, Last night marked my most replied to thread.

In light of the intelligent answers and commentss I recieved, I thought a pulic response was in order.

As to the claim that we should clap for Dr. Fryer because he is trying hard:

If Dr. Fryer was 8, I might could roll with that.

Now while my wife is actively contemplating his death and dismemberment, I just said that the brother was off target.  I am not even saying he should pack up his ish and bounce.  I am merely offering criticism on his thesis.

As for this veiled notion that the whole community is sitting idly by watching Roland Fryer get his Don Quixote on is just nonsense.

There are MANY nameless and faceless academics out there trying to eliminate the achievement gap both privately and publicly.

One of them lives in my house.

This notion that pervades that all actions should be applauded is wackness of the most pure form.

All actions should be acknowledged and recognized.

Would it be better if I think Dr. Fryer is off track and I decide to wait until it doesn’t work and then rush in and say:

I knew it wouldn’t work all along.

(this here is typical negro behavior, btw.)

I merely chose to put out a letter to Dr. Fryer suggesting that he might be off track.

——–

Those of you who were less critical of Dr. Fryer said things such as the following:

Its no different than a kid getting a new book (like I did) or a special dinner when they bring home a great report card.

It is completely different.

New book = reinforcement of the value of education.  a Chance to make reading a lifestyle.

Nice Dinner = Cultural experience that allows for MORE learning.

Giving a kid money = Giving a kid money

Or how about programs like Upward Bound or College STEP? As a STEP alum, I got a $5,000 stipend every year I was in the program and did what I was supposed to do. I don’t hear anyone hollering about that–and Upward Bound is probably one of the greatest experiences a teenager could have.

I agree wholeheartedly.  Being a teenager is pricey and teenagers are fierce capitalists.  You NEED to show them the money.  But these ain’t teenagers, these are CHILDREN.  Puberty ain’t the time for symbolism and lessons.  THOSE children NEED money and have already developed some SENSE of the value of Education (or else THEY would be on the block somewhere making money).  Comparing the plight of 16 year olds and 8 year olds is like comparing the needs of an ipod and the needs of a transistor radio.  They are sponges and they WILL soak up whatever you give them.  This is your ONE AND ONLY chance to give them a love for learning.   You have to plant that seed before they get old enough to be influenced by other forces.  Paying children of this age only reinforces the very negative forces they will be bombarded with as they grow up.

Let me close by focusing on an issue that I alluded to yesterday.

Dr. Fryer is trying to hot-wire the system.  By paying children straight out, as opposed to giving incentives to teachers or parents he believes he is creating a neat synthesis.

inject money as a motivating factor and watch them fly.  Ok. Fair enough.  But what is REALLY being rewarded?

Acing a standardized test?  woo hoo.  Is THAT the goal here?  Think VERY carefully before you answer that.

I cannot remember the last time my SAT Score was relevant to anything.  Hell, I can barely remember my SAT Score.

It is one thing to deal with the Education Industry using their Standardized Test Fetishes as a guise for determining progress, it is quite another for those of us who have taken as our mission to deliver this newest generation to sip on that koolaid like that shit REALLY matters.  THOSE folk oughta know better.

If you want to save THIS generation,  You need to work them as hard as you love them and be the change you want them to become (Obama, 2008)

Making it rain on them will do little more than get them wet.

2 comments

  1. Jazzy

    Ink, 8 year olds in some areas are all ready there! They know what money is but they don’t have anyone to teach them the value of it. I agree it sucks that teachers are now regulated to the role of primary care givers in some districts but that is what they are signing up for, they are aware that those students are going to need a little more time and attention (my friend works in such a district in Funky Town, and I am seriously contemplating moving into the teaching field). 8 year olds are inundated with the same messages from the popular free world that teenagers are, to suggest that they are still in the same frame of mind at 8 that we were growing up is out of touch a bit.

    Kids are exposed all kinds of images (even PG cartoon have adult humor in them) we would be derelict in our duty if we continued to ignore the fact that these kids are aware. I grew up poor and in a rural area I can not remember a time when money was not a concern or when I KNEW MONEY was paramount. Parents can try to hide this from kids but children are very perceptive and we do them a disservice by pretending that they are not cognizant.

    I would like to see Dr. Fryer (as an economist) institute a program where the children learn to invest and save money and what that means but other than that, I feel that this is all his program is lacking.

Leave a Reply

