1.75 – the Next Movement

Mrs. Ink is in her hometown of New York celebrating the end of school by taking in (Black) Cat on a Hot Tin Roof on Broadway with her mom and some friends of her family.

Me?

I am taking this time off to get some work done and act like I got some damn sense, a task I have a tendency to fail at occasionally.

Yes, If you haven’t noticed, InkogNegro is now at stage 1.75.

You may ask yourself: Self? What does that mean exactly?

I will tell you that it’s just a sign of a shift in the narrative of this blog.

I have been blogging off and on since being asked to contribute to an anonymous group blog back in the fall of 2000.

In case you forgot how long ago 2000 was, let me help you.

In 2000, I was a 30 year old Capitol Hill Staffer with a Mets/Giants loving native of the Bronx for a wife, a beautiful young son who bore a striking resemblance to his father and shared a love for music and a name with both my father and me. I was just starting to embrace my burn to write and was looking to the internet with curiosity as a place I could work my new found craft. With my father’s death in March of 2000, I was entrusted with the task of writing my father’s

The nation was emerging from the Clinton Years with a budget surplus, and just beginning to come to grips with the amazing technological leap that had been provided by the tech-boom. Bush and Gore got their late night thriller on and when all the dust had settled…America had spoken clearly and said:

We would rather have the other guy, but rules are rules…how bad could he be?

If you thought you had an idea it would go down like THIS, kindly leave this post and take your ass somewhere with that 20/.05 Hindsight. NO ONE could have seen this ish coming in 2000.

Fast forward four years and it is 2004.

I had managed to add a son, break a family, slip into an emotional tailspin and circle the drain of my life for about 2 years before slipping completely into the toilet and emerging on the other side of sanity in Fort Worth, TX miles from ANYONE I knew.

The change of scenery and some fervrent prayers on my part along with my family, nudged me closer and closer to being a productive black man.

Four MORE years later, here I am. homeowner, happy husband, devoted, if long-distance, father. Still grinding away at this blogging thing.

I have really grown up in the past 8 years, especially in regards to who I am and what I am about. Even though I no longer Blog under my given name, my life is a story that begs telling. The next movement is about bringing my life back into my blogging.

What does this mean for YOU?

You might actually get to know me, if you stick around.

Watching the media (THEM, if you will) twist themselves into knots about the overwhelming otherness of Barack and Michelle Obama tells me all I need to know about how important it is that Black Folk be allowed to just BE and not have to slide into some easily digestible porridge for the Culturally picky. In this spirit I call upon all of us to be more engaging, not just in our opinions and facts, but in ourselves.

3 comments

  1. Keystroke

    How many times I got ta tell ya? You bet’ not even DREAM of tellin’ white folk da truth…

    …I’m gonna go find me a white man and lie to him right now!

  2. Keystroke

    How many times I got ta tell ya? You bet’ not even DREAM of tellin’ white folk da truth…

    …I’m gonna go find me a white man and lie to him right now!

Leave a Reply

