Real Talk vol. 1

(note from the Ink.  Ain’t no links, no  catchy videos.  Just a man and his laptopreleasing some pent-up anxiety)

I am tired of all this.  All the horserace he said she said back and forth is wearing me out.  I just spent most of yesterday using Google reader to catch up while enjoying a day off before heading into the plantation for the weekend.

I am just tired of it all.

I promised a piece to a good dude and I just can’t bring myself to make it hapen.

Its a good piece, too.   Monday I am going to commit myself to pounding it out.

In the meantime, a little bit about where my head is right now.

There are dueling realities at work right now.

On the one side you have the folk who believe that politics is what it is and that it will always be that.   The goal is to concentrate power into the hands of those with whom you share beliefs and ride or die with those folk.  These are the folk who either have a vested interest in the success of the party or believe that this is the way it is always going to be.

Then you have those who “drink the Koolaid”.  Not the Obama Koolaid, but the different way of doing things koolaid.  Most of these folk aren’t Political Junkies like me.  They are passionate about their country but find the idea of retail politics counterproductive.  They believe in Policy and Ideas moreso than politics.  Most of them have been out in the wilderness thanks to the past decades of insider politics.

It is important to note that Many of us drink the koolaid because we like the flavor.   We want things to be different.  Really, what we want is IN.  We want a part.  Obama offers us a ROLE.

Candidates are really good at asking for votes and telling us what to think.  It isn’t often that they spur us to action.   That is because they don’t want too much action from us.  Vote and go back to what you were doing.

I stood in the crowded church sanctuary that housed my precinct caucus and wondered where ALL these people were during the city election that happened only a year prior.  The impact of a city council person is far more significant on a day to day basis than president, but good luck getting Texas folk motivated for anything short of congress or President, but I digress.

Barack Obama, more than anything is trying to build a movement that will spur us to follow him to take back our government.

Hillary Clinton is trying to win and be president.

That, ultimately is the difference.

I have decided that I will not settle for less than transformational politics.

Anything less would be uncivilized.

3 comments

  1. jonzee

    I am where you are. I dreamed about the race. The other night I almost couldn’t sleep over it. So now I’m going on a news media mouritorium.

    But on another subject, where’s the post you owe me? Don’t think I forgot?

  2. Christina Springer

    Don’t settle for less than transformational politics. But, take a break. Breathe. Relax. Look around at all the wonderful things around you. In these simple, lovely moments – we will find our best attack. We will also find the strength to use hope as the quintessential weapon.

Leave a Reply

