Unravelling the Cliche of Single Parenting

This is part of a Guest post series on Womanist Musings.  Kindly follow me over there and follow along with the series

Unravelling the Cliche of Single Parenting

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Through no accident of the cosmos, I found that in burying my maternal grandmother I had witnessed a seamless evolution in our culture before my very eyes.

I was provided with a front row seat in the world of Single Parenting as it has evolved through the latter half of the 20th century. I have seen it grow from a dirty little secret, to a necessary evil, to a political football, to an acceptable life choice.

Follow along here

3 comments

  1. mary

    I think you have given honor, respect and an enlightened eye to single parenting. There are some days I hate that my son is in the middle of it but there are other days, like now, where I hope one day he understands. Thank you for sharing your powerful story.

Leave a Reply

