Day of Blogging for Justice – Don’t Tase the Bros to death or Dismemberment

Once upon a time, I was involved in a childhood game where you mustered up all the static electricity you could (usually off of the carpet) and then you went and shocked another person.

Once, one of my older cousins succeeded in genuinely shocking me to the point that I was genuinely uncomfortable and rather skittish to play the game from that point forward.

I also have had unfortunate incidents involving jumper cables that have me rather slow on the draw to deal with electricity.

You can imagine, therefore that I am not a particularly big fan of Tasers.

I would be lying if I tried to pass myself off as some kind of anti-tasering activist though.

I am going to take this Day of Blogging for Justice to address a larger issue.

So much of the focus is based around the weapon, when the real focus should be based on the psychology of the user.

The reality is, before Tasers, Cops were just shooting folk…well mostly black folk.

When they weren’t Sodomizing..errr…Beating…err…turning the hose…err…loosing the dogs on…you get the picture.

Tasers were introduced as a means to minimize the use of firearms…a noble exercise to be sure.

But unless you work on the psyche of the user…the psyche that minimizes the value of the suspect to less than that of a test dummy…the user will find a way to abuse the weapon.

IN that spirit I will shut my ignorant ass up and point you to folk much more qualified than me to weigh in.

Tasered while Black

Jack and Jill Politics

Regina’s Family Seasons

Check up on Electronic Villager to see more.

5 comments

  1. Wise

    Well I think you’re plenty qualified to speak on it, if for no other reason than that your cousin lit your ass up. lol

    What up, son!

  2. Pingback: Blogging For Justice - Police Abuse (Tasers) | A Slant Truth
  3. african american political pundit

    Great post.Inkognegro, Thank you so much for posting this and helping to bring this issue to people’s attention. As superSpade noted on his blog, “being tasered is a small but significant part of being Black in America.” Our stories must be told by us because according to an African Proverb, “Until the Lions have Their Historians, Tales of the Hunted will Always Glorify the Hunter.”

    AAPP

  4. Pingback: Taser Abuse Awareness RoundUp » BlackPerspective.net
  5. Pingback: BlackPerspective.net

Leave a Reply

