Mr. and Mrs. Nasir Jones, Lemme Holla @ Y’all for a Min.

First off, The T-shirt doesn’t bother me. The name of the album doesn’t bother me, much.

I wasn’t always a fan of yours. I liked your music, but I never did care much for you back in the Illmatic days. You reminded me of those kids I grew up with who were far more witty and creative than me, the universally acclaimed class nerd, but didn’t see the value in translating that genius to the actual work in school.

Your career is one long collection of shouldacouldawoulda. I could go into details, but I will let your boy, Mr. Carter summarize your career circa 2002

You said you been in this ten
I’ve been in it five – smarten up Nas
Four albums in ten years nigga? I could divide
That’s one every let’s say two, two of them shits was due
One was – NAHHH, the other was “Illmatic”
That’s a one hot album every ten year average
Yes, somewhere along the way you finally grew up and started making albums more indicative of your extensive verbal talents. And for that, Mrs. Jones, I actually thank you for slowin Nas down. Your entrance into his life has done WONDERS for his legacy.
But for real though, Nas. Ima need you to hit the books and the newspaper and stop relying on your inbox for all your news.
But Instead, of Beating you down, I’ma lift you up Nas, because lately you have really stepped your game up.
I choose to focus on THIS Nas instead:
Rock the Library Card before you Rock the Vote, Nas.

One.

2 comments

  1. Jonzee

    You and I often disagree on hip-hop. Perhaps because I am a NY Girl–with midwestern roots. And you being from P-burgh–well, I don’t know any hip hop artists from there–but I digress.

    I agree Nas has moved to fast and in ill advised ways sometimes. But the brother has significant verbal prowess. Hence the reason your boy Jay and Nas been doing stuff together. And let me not go there about Jay. He has made some records that were straight dismissals of his skill–I think the difference is Nas was more desperate about his. But both of them made young boy mistakes.

    Anywhoo. NAs for Life!

Leave a Reply

